So I was playing around with mounted combat and I noticed a few oddities (perhaps intentional ones):
1) High Ground from a mounted target seems to work even if your base isn't 2" higher?
1a) Presumably if the opponent had a base they would also get High Ground (effectively giving both sides High Ground 1).
1b) There aren't any listed restrictions on when this can apply. Does this mean you get High Ground shooting at non-mounted targets?
1c) High Ground can usually be used if you go offense or defense, though the use of "targets" implies it only works while you're attack. Does mounted High Ground offer you a bonus if you go defensive for ranged and melee?
2) Does Mounted Combat stack with this? I'm pretty sure it does and can be used anytime High Ground can.
3) Do you need the Mounted Charge trait to perform a Mounted Charge? It's not listed as a trait for the common mount, but it's described as being a benefit of being mounted in the Core rules.
ok, cool. I was just verifying.
As for 3) I might be missing something but I didn't see anything Mounted Charge gave you that wasn't described in Core rulebook.
1a Correct on mounted combat.
1b Also correct
3. No, you can perform the mounted charge if mounted to get your bonuses. Cavalry really are a lot of fun and work well.
I believe the trait gives you a bonus for being mounted. (did not look it up)
Mounted Combat really is that terrifying thing to stand up to, or is fantastic if they are yours for slamming into a squad already engaged with someone else. With your movement bonus for charging and being mounted Cavalry are worth the extra effort.